Why I Do What I Do

As noted, I’m a student at UNR in Information Systems. Why does that qualify me to be able to speak about helping businesses to get a step up to support themselves? Well…here are a few things.

To kick it off, I grew up in Reno for the majority of my life. When I was two, my family moved from one of the tiniest towns in Central Utah to open a local video store. Video Maniacs boomed for years and more stores were opened. Local business became part of my family’s niche. After the video stores, my dad tried his hand in wine selling, back to the video stores, and now owns a local CPA office. I’ve grown up watching him and helping at the stores and office as they grew into profitable and positive assets for the community. Here sparked my interest and positive views for local businesses in the community.

In college, I joined a group formerly known as Students in Free Enterprise (now Enactus), brought to UNR by Jordon Blackford. I learned how to spin community service into a part of business. We helped people be able to help themselves after we finished teaching. It was a reward to see people thrive after helping that makes everything worth it! My love for community service grew into something that was part of my daily life because of this. I’ve been able to help a community that began to suffer from lack of traffic, helped elementary students learn about financial literacy, and raise 5,000 cans of food to be donated to the Children’s Cabinet. Community service has become a new obsession of mine now and “helping people help themselves” has become the mantra of how I want to give back to the community. This is why I decided to focus my career goals as a business analyst.

When I joined the professional business fraternity, Delta Sigma Pi, I held a position as social chair one semester then was webmaster with Eric Soderberg. We spent the semester changing the website around, growing it, utilizing our social media more heavily, and brought more advertising out. This was my first hands on experience with IT work for a group. It showed that I do believe I have what it takes to be in the IT field and those around me gave the support to further my belief.

Finally, over the summer of 2012, I worked for REI Drilling. I worked in the IT department with Jon Spade to help develop and remodel their newly designed websites. I also helped create PowerPoint presentations for a conference later in the year. My experience of working in the IT field with an actual company began my path of working for businesses. Their support was amazing and it allowed me to learn to ask what they needed for me to do. Next, I worked for Industrial Properties of Nevada over the last semester. Here I actually set the foundation of working with a company and analyzing what they needed to grow and flourish. I began instruction on databasing, social media, and basic computer knowledge. This internship gave me the experience to know what exactly it is like to do what I want to do.

So, from the experience and things I’ve learned inside and outside the classroom, I believe I’m capable of what I’m doing. Businesses everywhere need the stable ground to thrive and flourish so I’m here to help.  While this may seem like more of an expanded version of my about me, it’s not just that. It’s a vow that I will know what I’m doing now and later in life and I have the proof from past experiences to prove it. These experiences have helped me to help myself.

Do you have a part of your life that you are strongly dedicated to? Also, check out the links on the post. The organizations and people are superb! 

One thought on “Why I Do What I Do

  1. It’s so great to hear about others who are using the values they learned in Enactus in other areas of their life. We are definitely in agreement with you about how community service quickly becomes a passion when you see the results through Enactus!

Leave a Reply

