Communal Areas

Think about the times that you go out to a location to have a meal. Envision that you are with a group of friends. Want to try something new? Well, here is something you may not have heard about. I came across this little restaurant downtown a few years ago that a friend had pointed out to me. It was Basque food which was something I had never had before. I was finally at that stage in my life where I was basquemore willing to try new things (which is completely different from when I was younger. I used to sit at the table for hours after everyone had finished, refusing to eat).   Now you must be asking, where am I going with this story? What does this have to do with the community? It has everything to do with the community actually. I finally went to the restaurant that year and have gone multiple times and it has a very unique environment. Louis’ Basque Corner Restaurant  has amazing food in good quantities, multiple courses, and most important of them all, it is in a family style seating arrangement. This means that you don’t get to see alone, secluded with your friends or by yourself. You sit at long tables with other parties that have come to eat as well. You share different courses together and you get to socialize with people in your community that you may not have known about. Now that’s a communal area. Definitely look around your town and see if you can find a family style restaurant like this. It will definitely be worth your while. If you’re in the Reno area, try the Basque Corner!

Next on the list of communal areas is an easy one but my personal favorite. Ever since I was little I have always loved to read. I was one of those people that hid under the blankets with a flashlight after bedtime and read to my heart’s content…or at least until I was so exhausted that I passed out. One of my favorite places to go was the library. Like I said, it’s an easy communal place. You find community in the ability to check books in and out whenever you wish, you can use the computers, the printers, and/or the copiers. I believe that the best part of the library is the fact that they have different events held all the time and you can socialize with people either your age or people that have the same interests in you. On the same subject of libraries, there are amazing used book stores as well anywhere. My personal favorite is a small shop in San Mateo, California called B Street Books. They sell at inexpensive prices, buy your books to sell again, have books from any subject, and it’s a quaint shop that you can spend hours in.

co-opFinally, this last year I found an amazing place in Reno. The Great Basin Community Food Co-Op is really something special. They sell natural, local, and organic foods that help people eat right and help the community thrive. Buying local really is the way to go. They have items from vegetables, tea, coffee, a wellness section, books, etc. and everything is local or natural foods just off the market. They also hold meetings for local activities and events in Reno as well!

Photo Credit – Basque Corner | Great Basin Community Food Co-Op

Have you been to anywhere that’s communal like these locations? Thoughts on the locations I chose? Comment below.

 

Leave a Reply

